Perdue Announces Farm Service Agency State Committee Appointees

U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue today announced a slate of Farm Service Agency (FSA) State Committee Appointees. State committees are selected by the Secretary, serve at the pleasure of the Secretary, and are responsible for carrying out FSA’s farm programs within delegated authorities.

“The State Committees will help to ensure USDA is providing our farmers, ranchers, foresters, and agricultural producers with the best customer service,” Secretary Perdue said. “They serve as a liaison between USDA and the producers in each state across the nation by keeping them informed and hearing their appeals and complaints. The committees are made up mostly of active farmers and ranchers, representing their peers and ensuring USDA’s programs are supporting the American harvest.”

The following is a list of State Committees released today:


◦ Committee Chair Brian K. Harris – Heathsville

◦ Gary D. Cross – Zuni

◦ Matthew J. Lohr – Broadway

◦ Charles P. Shorter – Blacksburg

◦ Steve Sturgis – Eastville

“The work done by Farm Service Agency state committees is vital to ensuring the many services and programs implemented by the Agriculture Department are aligned with the needs of our grassroots farmers and ranchers. We are proud of the fact that Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue selected many of our farmer and rancher members to carry out this very important mission,” said American Farm Bureau Federation President Zippy Duvall.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s